The Ten Precepts of Tzu Chi

      The Ten Precepts of Tzu Chi are the rules for daily living that Master Cheng Yen asks all Tzu Chi members to abide by.

      These precepts include:

      1. No killing
      2. No stealing
      3. No fornication
      4. No lying
      5. No drinking
      6. No smoking or use of narcotics or betel nuts
      7. No gambling
      8. Practice filial piety and develop pleasant manners and speech
      9. Abide by traffic laws
      10. No participation in political activities or demonstrations

      The first five are the basic precepts set forth by Buddhism. Master Cheng Yen asks us to follow the latter five precepts which she developed based upon the conditions of current society